Annual Town Meeting

The Council held a very successful Town Meeting on Thursday 20th April. It was well attended and members of the audience heard from a variety of speakers. Councillor Marcus Hartnell, Chairman and Mayor, reported on the extensive work of the Council in the 2016 / 2017 Municipal Year and some of the challenges arising. Committee Chairman, Councillors Martin Pigott (Community & Open Spaces), Heather Sanham (Finance & General Purposes), Jack Rowland (Estates) and Martin Shaw (Planning) explained the work of their respective committees and key issues arising. External speakers provided lively, informative presentations with Mr Simon Card talking about the work of the Devon Air Ambulance Trust, Mr Harry Barton, Chief Executive Officer for the Devon Wildlife Trust spoke about the development of Seaton Jurassic and the Tourist Information Office. Karin Frewin, Marketing & Events Specialist updated the audience on the work of Seaton Town Development Team and candidates for election to Devon County Council in May, Ian Martin, Helen Parr and Martin Shaw spoke about their experience and ambitions. There was an opportunity for members of the public to ask questions of Seaton Town Council and the candidates for election. Our thanks to all those who attended the meeting.